Starting 2016 on a positive note… with pulled pork and asian slaw!

Another year has gone by with me asking/ exclaiming: ‘where did it go?!?’  I stood watching another spectacular Sydney New Year’s Fireworks baffled by the feeling that it was only yesterday that we were celebrating New Years Eve 2014/15… Seriously, I ask you, did 2015 actually happen?

I was recently asked whether I had achieved all that I wanted for the year – and my answer was ‘no’. My response was in no way indicative that I had failed in 2015, but rather that the progress made was in areas different to my goals. Interestingly this puts me in a strange place emotionally and intellectually – fluctuating between patting myself on my back and having panic attacks (ok perhaps a bit of an exaggeration, but you get my drift) around what I didn’t manage to achieve.

How about you? Did you achieve what you wanted in 2015?

At the end of the day, 2015 was not a bad year for me but I am hoping that 2016 will be better. With the start of a new year (I don’t know why a new year signifies time for change…), I am putting it out to the universe that it is going to be fabulous!

So, this brings me to the topic of New Years resolutions. I don’t tend to make them as my track record sticking with those is dismal and I don’t want to get to the end of ether year having failed yet again to lose weight, to get more sleep, or to work less. That said, I will set myself a goal: to prioritise me. What this means is to allow sometime in the week that is about me (aka trying to achieve that elusive work-life balance)- this may be in the form of improving health (going to the gym, eating well etc), psychological wellbeing (I was given an adult colouring book for Christmas so that is motivation for practicing mindfulness or writing this blog…), or just relaxing (if I cat relax on a tropical beach with fresh coconut in hand perhaps a hot bubble bath may suffice). It really doesn’t matter which, I will though commit to doing at least one ‘prioritise me’ activity per week.

Surely that is achievable?

What about you? Is there a goal that you are going to aim for this year?

So, what better way to start the new year on a positive ‘prioritise me’ note than to spend it with dear friends eating fabulous food? I had a craving for pulled pork buns and so that was what I served at our New Years Day gathering. Of course, if making pulled pork one needs to also make a slaw – in this case I went for an Asian slaw. The flavours work really well together (even if I do say so myself). Note, these recipes are party-sized – this fed around 20 people (though there was also other food to be had so perhaps if this is the only thing you are making factor that in…). Serve with bread rolls so your guests can make their own pulled pork buns!

Happy New Year to you all and may 2016 bring will it all your heart desires!

xoxo

NYE15

 

Maple Mustard Pulled Pork

2 brown onions, roughly chopped (large pieces)
4 kg Pork shoulder

Basting sauce
100 ml Maple syrup
100g Muscovado sugar
2 tbsp Mustard powder
100g Wholegrain mustard
5 tbsp Chinese cooking wine (or whisky)
4.5 tbsp apple cider vinegar
3 tbsp light soy sauce
5 garlic cloves, minced
A generous pinch mixed spice
salt & pepper, to taste

Preheat over to 140 degrees Celsius. Make the basting sauce by combining all the ingredients together. Line the bottom to the large baking tray with onions. Place your piece of pork on top of the onions. Pour the sauce over the pork and place tray in the oven. Cook for 10 hours, basing every couple of hours (there is absolutely no harm in cooking this longer than 10 hours). Remove from oven. ‘Pull’ (i.e. shred using forks) the pork apart into small bits.

Pour the basting sauce into a medium saucepan, bring to a simmer and reduce until thick. Pour over pork (add as much as you need to get the amount of flavour you want). Serve.

pulled pork

Asian Slaw

Salad
1 carrot, peeled and cut into matchsticks
½ wombok (Chinese cabbage), shredded
250g bean sprouts
250g snow peas, thinly sliced
1 bunch coriander (leaves)
1 red onion, thinly sliced
1 cucumber, seeds removed, cut into matchsticks

Dressing:
2 tbsp soy sauces
2 tbsp sesame oil
2 tbsp honey
a squeeze of lime juice (to taste)
2 tbsp grated ginger
2 cloves garlic, minced

Combine all the dressing ingredients together. Combine all salad ingredients into a large (well you may need two) salad bowl. Dress and serve.

Asianslaw

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Starting 2016 on a positive note… with pulled pork and asian slaw!

  1. chocolatesuze says:

    Happy new year! I’m with ya, 2015 just flew past! Here’s to an amazing 2016 🙂

Leave a Reply

