My right to choose – including cooking a quick and easy salmon pasta!

I recently caught up with some friends I hadn’t seen in a while, and this blog came up… Ms Fitness Magic: “So, what’s happened with the blog?” Me: “… yeah, about that….” Turns out I have at least one reader! So with renewed enthusiasm here we go… The word feminist has been bandied about a fair bit recently with various high profile people either owning the label or down right refusing it. It’s a strange thing – that label. Many years ago, I was accused of undoing all the hard work that the feminists before me had wrought – I loved to bake and bring the goodies to work tottering in on stilettos and wearing 1950’s style dresses… I admit, I like hand bags and shoes and all things girly! So, does that make me an anti-feminist? I thought these strong women were fighting for our rights to do, or not to do, all these things. Not so that we all had to work or vote or not bake/ cook or not dress in a particular style. I have always called myself a feminist because I believe in having the right to choose. That is what feminism means to me. I am grateful to those suffragettes who fought for the right to vote. I say thank you to those women who burned their bras and broke glass ceilings and proved that they could do virtually anything a man could do… all so that I could grow up with choices. That I could choose to get at university education, to work in any field, to exercise, to eat what I want (let be realistic here, when wearing a corset women really could eat much), wear what I want, and say what I want and my voice is a valid one. So back to the recent hoo-ha about it… A number of some-what influential women have publically said they are NOT feminists. This has confused me. Do they not believe in women (and men – cause it has to go both ways) having equal rights and choices? Perhaps they use a different ‘definition’ to me. After all, there are all those connotations. Plus it does include part of the word feminine (perhaps we should change it to equalist or something)… Are you a feminist/ equalist? Anyhoo, rant over! Today’s recipe is all about fast prep and cooking and healthier choices that still taste good! As a feminist… I am finding that I’m getting home from work later and later which means that if I’m going to eat well it needs to be quick.

salmon pasta1

Quick and Easy Salmon Pasta, its creamy too!

Serves 2 1 (largeish) salmon fillet, skin removed and cut into large chunks. 1 bunch baby asparagus. ½ avocado Juice from ½ lemon 2 cloves garlic 3 ‘twigs’ dill (about 3 tbsp) 2 cups spiral pasta (use what ever you have in the cupboard, but keep in mind that spiral pasta takes up a lot of volume so if you use a smaller pasta you will probably want to measure out less) Salt and pepper to taste. Parmesan to taste (I used about 2 tbsp)

  1. Bring a medium sized pot of water to the boil.
  2. Prepare the asparagus (trim and halve).
  3. Blanch asparagus in the boiling water – it will only take a couple of minutes so keep an eye on it – you do not want to over cook it! Remove the asparagus from the water and place in a medium sized bowl.
  4. Using the water from the asparagus, cook pasta according the packet instructions.
  5. Heat up a frying pan, place the cloves of garlic still in the skin in the pan. Remove the garlic from the pan after about 30 – 40 seconds. Put aside to cool.
  6. Add a spray of oil to the fry pan. Add the salmon.
  7. To prepare the ‘dressing’: Using a handheld blending stick. In a tall container place the avocado, lemon juice, peeled garlic, salt and pepper. Blend until smooth. (If you want you can add the parmesan here instead of later).
  8. Remember to check on your pasta and the salmon (which is to be turned over when browned on one side).
  9. To assemble: Place half the pasta in a bowl, top with half the asparagus and dill, sprinkle with Parmesan. Add half the salmon and then dollop with half the ‘dressing’.
  10. To eat: mix all ingredients together.

salmon pasta2

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My right to choose – including cooking a quick and easy salmon pasta!

  1. tasteefood says:

    YUMM.. can’t wait to visit again and try this! x

Leave a Reply

