Days long past and old recipes… Persian strawberry, ginger and mint sekanjabin (syrup)

Every now and then I wonder what it would have been like to have been born in a different time. As much as I relish the freedoms we have here in present day Australia – I’m not certain that I wouldn’t have preferred living in the 50’s or at the turn of the century… I mean the idea of wearing gorgeous gowns made of yards of sumptuous fabric, working on dainty needlepoint or painting, nibbling on sweet cakes and pastries sounds like fun! Or having rock’n roll dance offs, wearing pink jackets and enjoying that summer lovin’ (you may have picked that I recently watched Grease). Obviously there are some issues that I am completely ignoring – the first is to dismiss is my mixed-heritage (I would certainly have been ostracised) and the second (to only name two) you will note that there is absolutely no mention of my being a bar wench or factory worker – because the day dream is so much more fun if you are nobility (who wants to face the reality of that time anyway??)…

If you could pick a period to live, what would that be?

This pondering has been inspired by my viewing of the BBC TV series “The Supersizers Go…” and “The Supersizers Eat…” – documentary-esque look at the history of food. It is hilarious! I recommend you get onto youtube and start watching (right after you finish reading this post of course)! If you only watch one, and you have enjoyed a Jane Austen novel or two, you cannot afford to miss “The Supersizers Go… Regency”… Sometimes, I think that our lives aren’t that changed from days past – some of the issues that Austen’s women faced (and their behaviours) are not all that different from that of the 21st century woman… Make special note of Sue’s behaviour in the pub… Have you ever seen something similar? I certainly have (perhaps only slightly more subtle…)… and no it was NOT me!

The brown bread ice-cream they talk about in this episode (and reference Heston Blumenthal) was something I tried when I was in London a few years ago while dining at Dinner  by Heston (the menu there is designed around old recipes). I am not posting about brown bread ice-cream (to be honest I did much like it),  but I am posting about a recipe from the past…

drink

Strawberry, Ginger and Mint Sekanjabin

Recipe has been adapted (as I didn’t have the right ingredients) from: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/strawberry-ginger-and-mint-sekanjabin/
“This syrup is based on an ancient Persian recipe…” and is refreezing and very delicious!

2.75 cups caster sugar
1.5 cups water
1 punnet strawberries, chopped
3/4 cup chopped fresh mint
1/3  cup sliced fresh ginger
4.5 tablespoons lemon juice (the original recipe uses 1.5 lemons and you use the peel)
3/4 cup balsamic vinegar (the original recipe says to use white balsamic but I didn’t have any – using white balsamic will probably yield a lighter ‘cordial’)

Bring the sugar and water to a boil over high heat. Boil until the sugar has dissolved, then stir in the strawberries, mint, ginger, and lemon juice. Return to a boil, then reduce heat to medium and simmer for 20 minutes. Remove from heat, and stir in the balsamic vinegar. Allow the syrup to stand overnight at room temperature, then strain out the fruits with a fine sieve. Store at room temperature in a sterile container.

To use, stir 1 part syrup into 4 to 6 parts water (or in the picture below with sparkling mineral water), serve cold.
drink2

P.S. I know I said I would post the Igglepiggle cake pops this time… sorry, I’ll do it next time…

This entry was posted in Drinks, Food, Sweets and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Days long past and old recipes… Persian strawberry, ginger and mint sekanjabin (syrup)

  1. CJWright says:

    Combination of these ingeredients, strawberry, ginger and mint senkanjabin is awesome… Very nice idea..

  2. bmacky says:

    Strawberry, ginger and mint senkanjabin combination is interesting.

Leave a Reply

