It is said than an elephant never forgets…

It is said that an elephant never forgets – unfortunately my memory is more akin to that of a goldfish… That said, there are some moments in life that stick with you forever, for me these include:

1) 9/11

2) Submitting my thesis (I hyperventilated as I was certain I had failed) and the day I received my results (when it hit me that I would ever have to open that document ever again!)

3) Eating a Rose and Raspberry St Honore at Laduree in Paris – one of only two moments in my life where I have been rendered speechless.

4) Finding out about Princess Diana’s accident… I’m showing my age now (at least I didn’t say JFK, Martin Luther King, or John Lennon)

5) … the day I ate at “Milk Bar by Cafe Ish”… (speechless moment #2).

I will admit that this list is in no way exhaustive, but I think you get the point… My original plan was to blog about some local restaurants all in one post but my recent experience deserves a post of its own.

When driving past on Regent Street, the “Milk Bar by Cafe Ish” is a blink and you might miss it sort of place and the decor is very simple, with an arcade game against one wall and a few tables inside – but let’s be honest – I’m here for the food. The backstory is given with the menu:

On the menu are a range of brunch items: bacon and eggs, salads, sandwiches and burgers – which judging by what people all around me were eating all looked pretty good. The cakes behind the counter look amazing (especially the Malteser Tart)…

And there is a very impressive milkshake menu – I plan to return to try more of the flavours…

We started with the PBJ milkshake – which was a delicious combination of salty-sweet (very sweet) and also of textures with the use of crunchy peanut butter. As a huge fan of peanut butter I guess this probably was always going to go down well :).

For food Ms TT and I decided to share the crab omelette and chilled rice pudding. Our out-of-town guest Ms Egyptian Queen (EQ) – thus named as we met in Egypt – ordered the avocado toast. Here’s where we come to that memorable moment – my first bite into the crab omelette. Speechless (and trust me when I tell you how rare that is). No words can fully describe the amazing fusion of crab, avocado, garlic, shallot, chilli, ginger and soy flavours!  The perfect combination of both tastes and textures.

The rice pudding was also delicious – the crumble topping definitely lifted the rice pudding to a whole other level. The chocolate fruit (that really doesn’t taste at all like chocolate) lended a certain creaminess and the strawberries a freshness – all I can say (again) is it was a delightful combination of both tastes and textures.

I can’t comment on the avocado toast save to say that it looked pretty good.

You must go try! Actually, don’t go – I don’t want to have to compete for a seat when I next go to try another of the milkshakes with the omelette…

The Milk Bar by Cafe Ish
105 Regent St
Redfern NSW 2016

This entry was posted in Food, Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to It is said than an elephant never forgets…

  1. chocolatesuze says:

    loooooove milkbar! the milkshakes are awesome and of course the soft shell crab omellete is outta this world

  2. I have a friend that lives right near there! I am going to have to start spending more time with said friend methinks….

  3. EQ says:

    I love my blog name! Great memories of this place 🙂

Leave a Reply

