Straight from the farm: Rhubarb and Strawberry Tart

One of the problems living in an apartment is that my ‘garden’ consists of small pot plants (mainly herbs) – so growing large plants is out of the question. Every now and then the Out-of-towners hand me a bag of something grown from their garden – which is great as it gives me an opportunity to be spontaneously creative. My current master plan involves convincing Mr Out-of-towner that he really wants to become my personal ‘straight from the farm’ source of vegetables and fruit  (if you guys are reading this please ignore the comparison of your place to a farm).

I have a list of interesting things to grow, just a few to start with (hint, hint):
1) Kale – great as chips or in soups (I am completely obsessed)
2) Finger lime – an Australian native lime which is sometimes referred to as citrus caviar – I can only begin to imagine what I can do with this…
3) Rose apple – an apple/ guava-type fruit that apparently tastes like roses – it can only be good right!
4) Purple sweet potato – because it is purple (why else) and reminds me of my childhood – I am envisaging a sweet potato pie…
5) Strawberry guavas – tastes like strawberries (apparently) – I’m intrigued.

Do you dear reader have any strange and wonderful plants growing in your garden?

Anyway, while I work at getting my farm, ahem, I mean while I appeal to the kindness of the Out-of-towners to grow these plants that I couldn’t possibly live without (cue the dramatic music)… I got working with the latest gift bag containing rhubarb. Even if I do say so myself, this was delicious (and I normally don’t like rhubarb).  A particular mention should be made about the pie crust – this is a keeper, crunchy and very short – I’ve decided that this is my ‘go to’ pie crust recipe.

Enjoy!

Rhubarb and Strawberry tart

Pastry
180g  gluten-free flour (or plain flour)
50g almond meal
150g unsalted butter
75g caster sugar
1 large egg

Work butter into flour using fingers until bread crumb consistency, add sugar and work through add eggs. Work into a ball. Refrigerate for 2 hours.

Filling
400g rhubarb, chopped into 2-3cm pieces
100g strawberries, chopped into 2-3 cm pieces
1/4 cup heaped brown sugar
½ tbsp vanilla

Pre-heat oven to 180 degrees Celsius. Grease a loose bottom pie/ flan tin (you can see from the photos I used a rectangular one).  Mix all ingredients together in a large bowl, put aside.
Roll out pastry to fill the pie tin replace in fridge for 20 mins.
Pour the filling into the pastry lined tin and bake in the oven for 45 min – 1 hour (until pastry is golden brown).

This entry was posted in Food, Sweets and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Straight from the farm: Rhubarb and Strawberry Tart

  1. Ooh I am very interested in trying a rose-apple! This pie looks divine and I will be certainly trying out your pie-crust 🙂

Leave a Reply

