Old Friends and a quick and easy Saffron Fish

I have recently been reconnecting with a very old friend – we have known each other since we were young children though have not had much to do with other since then.  What I find fascinating about childhood friendships, like this one, is that no matter how long we go without seeing each other once in the same room it is as if we have never been apart. It certainly intrigues me – this easy friendship. I wonder if it is because my childhood friends knew me before I developed all my adult characteristics. Or perhaps it’s because having such a long term friendship means that they are like family? Then again, perhaps the fact that we have managed to maintain some sort of contact over the years is a form of ‘natural selection’ (i.e. we keep those people around us who we would naturally get along well with). Whatever the reason – it certainly is a lovely thing.

Do you have a similar experience with your childhood friends?

I will dub this particular friend “The Boss” as my memories revolve around her being the leader and with whom, then and now, I do as commanded. ;P We were part of a trio and had a whole heap of fun!  She always picked what we were going to do and our exploits included play acting as a pop group called the “Rosebuds” where The Boss was the lead vocalist and we recorded our singing (I only hope the tapes never resurface), preparing the scene for a phone call to a boy she was interested in (background music and conversation cards were involved), and some very interesting kitchen experiments including one that resulted in salt soup (yes, you read correctly, salt in water). One memory that stands out is the compulsory cold rinse at the end of the shower to ‘close the pores’  – which I did based on her ‘rules’… Now to me that speaks to the power she had over me, I would do as commanded even when she wasn’t there to check!  I still have a lot of respect for The Boss, though I no longer have a cold rinse at the end of my bathing routine…

This recipe is an interpretation of The Boss’ delicious Saffron Fish Soup. The Boss’ only rule when it comes to cooking? It should not take more than 30 minutes…

Saffron fish

1 tbsp butter
2 cloves garlic, crushed
2 brown onions, finely chopped
3 tomatoes, diced
250 white fish, diced (I used barramundi, but you could use any type of white fish)
pinch saffron threads
water
salt and white pepper to taste
2 tbsp cream (optional, for a creamier texture)

Saute onions and garlic in melted butter. When the onions become translucent add tomato and saffron. Add about 1/2 cup water (keep adding water to the pan throughout cooking as needed so that the mixture does not dry out). After about 5 minutes, add fish. When fish is cooked add cream (this is optional – it will make the dish creamier, however you may want to skip it to reduce the fat). Add salt and pepper to taste

This serves 3 people when served with something else – in this case I served with stir fried silver beet.

This entry was posted in Food, Gluten-free, Healthier, Salty and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

