The Fat Duck, Sydney… well probably as close as we will get

I must say I am a little disappointed with adulthood. I had imagined attending more dinner parties, yet it seems that these are becoming extinct (well, at least among my friends). I blame busy lives and a plethora of fabulous restaurants that are only a hop, skip and a jump away. I to am guilty as  I could play host more, but the reality is that dinner parties can involve a lot of commitment, and popping down the road for dinner is much simpler.  So, I’m sure you can imagine my excitement when I was invited to Ms VC’s and the Mad Hatter’s Heston Blumenthal inspired feast! This was the epitome of dinner parties – the planning began weeks before, and the prep the week prior to our dinner date. We walked in to a mist of dry ice, to be seated at a table laden with silverware (I had a slight ‘Pretty Woman’ moment when I wasn’t sure which piece of cutlery to use). Over the course of the night we were served one delightfully delectable dish after another. It truly was a celebration of the senses. It was an AMAZING evening and I feel so privileged to have been invited. I will let the pictures do the talking. All recipes were taken from “Heston Blumenthal at home“. Pick of the night: Beetroot Risotto (with the mustard ice-cream as a very, very close second) – oh and I think I’m going to start adding vanilla to everything!

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Fat Duck, Sydney… well probably as close as we will get

  1. sue54 says:

    So glad you wrote this one up!! Been waiting! Descriptions are superfluous to the effort, love and passion brought to that table. Privilege indeed. Can’t say that I would or even could take the journey myself. Stunning.

    • Michelle says:

      Exactly – I felt that I couldn’t have done it justice … It was one of the most amazing meals i’ve ever had – all the more so because of what they went through to feed us 🙂

    • Mark says:

      WOW, thank you so much for your kind words. This certainly was a challenge. In fact probably the hardest thing I have undertaken in the kitchen after 15 years of cooking. Lakiesha & I work well together in this sense that she can decifer the recipe very quickly were as I need to see it in my head. Put those two together and a will to honor the recipe and chef. All in all we were very proud of what we achieved and so happy with the company we could share it with. And yes WE would do it again !

      • Michelle says:

        Thank you again – and I’m going to interpret the ‘would do it again’ as ‘will’ and expect an invite ;P
        It certainly was something to be proud of! Oh and I forgot to say – special mention for the perfectly cooked salmon!

  2. sue54 says:

    So pleased you wrote this up. Been waiting. Descriptions are superfluous to the love, passion and hard work which went into the event. Privilege indeed!! My fave? Pickled cucumber with mustard ice cream and red cabbage vinaigrette mmmmmmmm

  3. Wow this looks incredible! What a lot of effort! Very impressive!!

Leave a Reply

