Quick and easy decadence… the “slutty brownie”

Many, many years ago, I was enticed to join a gym by a friend dangling a coffee and cake shaped carrot to be had after an exercise class. This was fun, but unsurprisingly, was not a successful weight loss plan. I look back now and can’t help but be amused by my rationale that because I had exercised I was ‘allowed’ to eat cake. Unfortunately, it wasn’t until I stopped ordering the cake (there was no way I was giving up the coffee) that the weight started to come off… (Okay, so I can’t really attribute my weight loss to having one slice of cake less each week – I went from one hour to 9 hours  a week at the gym and was very watchful of the food I was eating – but it was a start.)

It has been a very, very long time since I last went to the gym  (I won’t give you my plethora of excuses, but I swear they are all valid!) but I finally talked myself into doing a step aerobics class… once over I felt incredibly proud of myself and like those cake-and-coffee beginnings I felt like rewarding myself with something incredibly indulgent (yes I realise that I am falling into the same trap). Since I also needed to make something for my impending dinner guests I thought I may as well bake something, that I could partake just a little of, now.

An article about Jessica Simpson’s pregnancy cravings describing something called ‘slutty brownies’ came to mind. Not traditional brownies, these consist of a layer of cookie dough, a layer of Oreo cookies, and a layer of brownie dough baked together – doesn’t that just sound amazing? All the ingredients are from a packet so it takes less than 15 minutes to assemble and then it’s in the oven (for about 45 minutes) where you can ignore it and go about your daily life. It is the ease in making these that have resulted in the moniker ‘slutty’ because they are “all too easy and a little bit filthy“…  Okay, a purist might make the cookie dough and brownie from scratch but in my defence it has been a busy week… All in all, a brilliant solution for the time poor who want to retain some semblance of being domestic goddesses – and I felt this would hit the spot ;).

OMG (I’m eating a piece right now) – this IS the ultimate indulgence!

Slutty Brownies

Adapted from http://www.thelondoner.me/2011/06/slutty-brownies.html. Since I was making this for an Australian themed dinner party (to commemorate a recent trip to the Northern Territory) I decided to substitute the traditional oreos with Tim Tams.

1 packet of chic chip cookie dough (I used one of those pre-made cookie dough logs that you can buy at the grocery store. You can just as easily use a packet mix)
1 packet chocolate brownie pre-mix (I opted for Donna Hay’s chic chip brownie)
2 packets of chocolate Tim Tams

1. Line a 20x20cm (square) tray with baking paper. Press the cookie dough into the tray to form a layer.

2. Lay the Tim Tams like bricks on the cookie dough to form a layer (and eat the all the extra Tim Tams that don’t fit in the tray).

3. Make up the brownie according to the instructions on the packet and pour over the top of the Tim Tams and bake for the time it says on the brownie packet.

5. Remove from oven and allow to cool for about 2 minutes before removing from tray. Serve warm (and it you are feeling particularly indulgent) with ice cream.

This entry was posted in Food, Sweets, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Quick and easy decadence… the “slutty brownie”

  1. Katie says:

    I am going to blame pregnancy hormones but want!!

  2. chocolatesuze says:

    holy moly that looks and sounds freaking incredible!

  3. Oh my god Michelle! This is one slab of heaven!

Leave a Reply

