Chunky Chocolate Banana Bread

I was discussing this blog with my brother the other night and was accused (in the way that brother’s do) of not being very creative with the name  – this was followed by the instruction that I should change it. In my defence, when I first started this blog I really hadn’t thought much about how I was going to approach this – I had wanted to start a blog for a while and just jumped straight into the deep end… and as a consequence “food and other  delectable things” was what I wanted to write about. This haphazzard approach to my blog means that I feel a little inadequate when I compare my site to others who have carefully thought out names, creative headers, and watermarks on their photos, etc. My brother’s comment got me thinking a little more about these things – starting with the name.

In an attempt to think of something that is relevant to me, I have a recollection of my brother (henceforth “J”) calling me a “kitchen chemist’ – the idea of being a kitchen chemist really appeals, despite it actually being an insult. The criticism was apparently because I was measuring out ingredients (rather than guessing at the proportions). I’ve decided to take it to mean someone who experiments in the kitchen… and will henceforth be the kitchen chemist.

So, my first post as the kitchen chemist is an old favourite – banana bread. Now, before you switch the channel from boredom – this is not any banana bread, this has chocolate… I have been meaning to post this recipe for ages – for almost a year actually having promised one of my fellow African Safari travellers that I would send her this recipe (whoops) – but coupling the price of bananas (they may as well be made of gold) and just not having an excuse to make this somewhat decadent cake (let us just be honest and state that the only bread-like feature of banana bread is the loaf shape) I just never got to it. Finally the opportunity came along in the shape of a fundraising breakfast.

I cannot remember where this recipe came from – a magazine of some sort – the important thing is that it makes for delicious banana bread – dense and rich – what more can you want? This is definitely a recipe that comes out every so often and is guaranteed to be eaten! I appologise for the photos – they really don’t do it justice… Trust me this is good stuff.

Chunky Chocolate Banana Bread 

2.5 cups plain flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp bicarbonate of soda
1/2 tsp salt
215g unsalted butter, softened
1 cup sugar
2 large eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
1.5 cups well-ripened bananas (about 4 bananas), mashed
1/2 cup buttermilk
200g good-quality dark chocoalte, chopped into large chunks

1. Preheat oven to 180 degrees celcius. Line a loaf tin with baking paper.
2. In a bowl, mix the flour, baking powder, bicarbonate of soda and salt.
3. In a separate mixing bowl, beat the butter and sugar until well combined and the mixture has turned pale yellow. Be careful not to overbeat. Beat in the eggs one at a time. Stir in the vanilla and add the mashed banana.
4. Beginning and ending with the flour, alternatively beat in a little flour mixture and then buttermilk to the banana mixture. Using a spatula or wooden spoon, fold through the chocolate chunks.
5. Spread the mixture into the lined loaf tin and cook for 1 hour and 20 minutes (or until the bread is firm all the way through – tested by inserting a skewer into the cake and if it comes out clean it is ready). Remove from oven and allow to sit for 10 minutes before removing thr bread from the tin.

This entry was posted in Food, Sweets, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Chunky Chocolate Banana Bread

  1. Great name Michelle! Having said that, someone once said a long time ago; “What is in a name? A rose by any other name would smell as sweet.” Your blog is and always was an amazing resource for delectable and enticing creations. Watermarks and fancy layouts are all well and good but you should be immensely proud of this blog and what you create. Your recipes are not only beautiful to look at but they are original and that is a major point of difference. I wait with baited breath for your next concoction and I am very excited because now I have a brilliant banana bread (NOW WITH CHOCOLATE!!) recipe to try out tonight. I will send you a pic of the empty tin because I don’t think I will be able to photograph it in time!

  2. Louise Heiniger says:

    I was lucky enough to eat some (well, a lot) of this banana bread and can vouch for the fact that it is, without a doubt, the best banana bread I have eaten. And I know that this is a big call, but the ratio of bananas to chocolate is perfect and I JUST CAN’T HELP BUT GO BACK FOR MORE!!!! I also agree with Anna’s comment, above, that layout and watermarks are trivial when considered alongside your culinary creativity! Keep up the good work Michelle!

  3. That sounds fantastic and there’s nothing better than chocolate chunks-not the lil chips but chunks!

  4. This sounds great, I don’t cook much with buttermilk it will be good to give it a try. Banana and chocolate mmmmm! GG

    • Michelle says:

      It’s amazing what a great addition buttermilk is! One day I will post my recipe for buttermilk salted caramel – tastes pretty good and is better for you than a cream based one 🙂

Leave a Reply

