Baked banana and peanut chocolate souffle

I love to eat. Unfortunately with it comes the consequence of weight gain. Yes, I seem to pile it on… in fact, I have a clear memory of a weekend in the ‘country’ some years ago, which involved a Devonshire tea or two (or three) which resulted in a hefty change on the scales! What makes it worse is that it seems to go on easier than it comes off. I should mention that I once was far heavier than I am right now. Having been through the weight loss process I can honestly say that it was one of the most difficult things I have ever done and I’m not sure that I could do it again… What this means, is that every now and then I have a moment of panic when I see a photo where I appear a little ‘softer around the edges’… the solution of course is to ‘watch’ my diet a little better. I must say, that after one day of ‘dieting’ I feel as if I should be a good couple of kilos lighter… surely this dedication should be rewarded! 🙂

Of course, dieting does not mean boring and bland, rather, a creative approach to cooking. In trying to develop a diet friendly and delicious dessert I came up with the following. It satisfied my obbession with salty/sweet and my love of bananas and was great for a cold winter’s night – as you can see in the pictures, I started digging in before I remembered to take a photo!

Baked banana and peanut chocolate 'souffle'

Baked banana and peanut chocolate ‘souffle’ (serves 2)
1 egg white
2 pieces 65% lindt dark chocolate
1 tsp peanut light butter
2 tsp caster sugar (next time I’ll try using Splenda instead – to reduce the calories)
1 banana

1. Preheat oven to 180 degrees celcius.
2. In a small bowl, whisk egg white until foamy. Whisk in sugar.
3. Meanwhile, in another small bowl, melt chocolate and peanut butter together (I do this by placing the ingredients into a bowl and use 20 second bursts in the microwave, stirring in between each burst, until melted). Set asside to cool slightly.
4. Grease two small ramekins. Slice the banana and use half to it to line a ramekin. Repeat with the other ramekin.
5. Fold the chocolate into the eggwhite mixture. Pour half into each banana filled ramekin.
6. Bake in oven for 10-15 minutes (or till it looks ready – a ‘shell’ top will form).

Bon appetit!

Baked banana and peanut chocolate 'souffle'

This entry was posted in Food, Healthier, Sweets, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Baked banana and peanut chocolate souffle

  1. Wow, I am so impressed with this recipe. It is so hard to find calorie friendly desserts. I am looking forward to giving this a try, I will let you know how I go! I love the ramekins as well 🙂

    • Michelle says:

      I thought I should look up the calories (don’t want to harp on about this being calorie friendly if it is not…). According to an online calorie calculator this recipe is 153 calories using real sugar. Replacing the sugar with Splenda brings it down to 138 calories per serve – which isn’t bad if you consider that an apple is 98 calories and this is far more decadent! 🙂

  2. Thanks for this, I am starting a 12 week challenge so this recipe is going to come in handy. My cooking has to become a whole lot healthier very soon! Yipes!

Leave a Reply

