Aubergine Salsa

Just the other weekend I discovered the Eveleigh Markets and I finally realised what it was about markets that I love. Naturally the chatty sort, it is the interaction between the produce sellers and the customers that really appeals to me – markets really are a place where people can share their mutual joy and enthusiasm for food. As I was seduced by the freshest bok choy Iโ€™ve ever seen and heirloom tomatoes, I came across a sorrel. Being something I had never come across before, I was intrigued. After asking a few questions, I was informed that you cook the leafy part like any other vegetable (so it went into Ribollita) and the bulb was apparently sweet โ€œlike an appleโ€… However, I am getting sidetracked, as this post is not about sorrel… I also bought some very delicious Yalla eggplant salsa (based on a recommendation from a friend) – it was delicious and went incredibly well with some coconut roti. So armed with an eggplant from the fridge and the memory of the salsa as inspiration, I decided to try to make my own (why not?) version of the salsa. It went down a treat with the roti – as you can see from the photos, it started disappearing quickly and I just managed to take a shot before it was gone! Happy eating ๐Ÿ™‚

Aubergine Salsa with Coconut Roti

Aubergine Salsa with Coconut Roti
Salsa:
1 medium eggplant (aubergine), coarsely chopped
1 large tomato, diced
1 spanish onion, diced
140g tomato paste
4 cloved garlic, finely chopped
4 tbsp red wine vinegar
4 tbsp water
3 tsp olive oil
1 tsp harissa
1 tbsp sugar
Salt, to taste

Combine all ingredients in a baking tray, bake until cooked through (eggplant should be soft and mushy).

Aubergine Salsa

Roti:
3 cups plain flour
3/4 cup dessicated coconut rehydrated in 1/4 cup water
pinch salt

Mix the all the ingredients in a bowl. Next add cold water little by little so that all the ingredients come together to form a dough.If the dough is too wet add flour. Break dough into balls of about 2 cm diameter. Flatten with a rolling pin. Spray oil in a large frypan, cook on medium heat until golden brown on both sides. Serve with the salsa.

Coconut Roti

This entry was posted in Food, Gluten-free, Healthier, Salty, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Aubergine Salsa

  1. ooh ive never had coconut roti before yum!

    • Michelle says:

      It’s really easy to make and the hint of coconut it great! Though this recipe is not sweet I think that with some sugar it would also be a nice accompaniment to something sweet and drippy!
      Love your blog btw ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Ooh this looks so moreish! Isn’t eggplant fantastic?! I really love this recipe ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Me again! I love your tablecloth, it is gorgeous ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

