Parting is such sweet sorrow… Saying thank you with lavender shortbreads

It wasn’t a farewell between two lovers in the likes of Romeo and Juliet, but leaving my job was bittersweet. There is something strange about having spent so much time with the same people and then all of a sudden there is a work colleague shaped hole in your life. Sure, there are a special few that I (hopefully) will manage to keep in contact with but, in my experience, most of these friendships will drift apart… Admittedly, this is likely the result of a combination of hectic-ness and laziness - so if you guys are reading please do not forget me! My radio silence is unintentional :).

The things I miss most… Well, of course the obvious things such as my coffee companions (my new work colleagues do not seem to share my caffeine addiction) and my fabulous lunch buddies with whom I could dissect each and every lived moment. There are the  conversations with my ‘roomie’ – who only rolled his eyes once each time I started with ‘I have a theory…’ (this did happen a lot).  I miss the staff at the coffee shop with whom our daily chats were a bright point in my day…  The weekly Friday morning teas (for the company more than the food ;P)… When you think about your workplace, is there something in particular that you would miss?

To say thank you, I made the Victoria Room’s lavender shortbread (with the addition of lemon because I thought that they would be a match in heaven). Lavender is my new favourite ingredient and you will be seeing a lot more of it… The biscuits were lovely – the texture was perfect – not to buttery but still nice and short! My only suggestion would be to add more lemon next time as you could barely taste it.

lavender shortbread2

Lavender Shortbreads

Adapted from the “High Tea at the Victoria Room” cookbook

260g unsalted cold butter, diced
125g caster sugar
250g plain flour
2 drops lavender oil
2 tsp lemon juice
125g rice flour

Topping
40g caster sugar
2 dried lavender flowers

  1. Preheat oven to 160 degrees Celsius. Line (3-4) trays with baking paper.
  2. To make the shortbread: cream together butter, sugar, lavender oil and lemon juice until light and fluffy. Work in the mixed fours.
  3. Turn onto a lightly floured surface and roll dough in between 2 sheets of baking paper (the recipe suggests 1 cm thick, I wanted them to be thinner so I make them about 0.6 cm thick).  Cut into preferred shaped, prick with a fork and put in the refrigerator for 15 minutes.
  4. Bake for 10-12 minutes until golden.
  5. While baking, process the sugar and lavender flowers until very fine.
  6. Once the hot biscuits are removed from the oven, sprinkle with the sugar and lavender flower mixture. Allow to cool.

Lavender shortbread1

This entry was posted in Food, Sweets, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Parting is such sweet sorrow… Saying thank you with lavender shortbreads

  1. chocolatesuze says:

    grats on the new job!

  2. S says:

    We miss you Michelle! LOTS!! Roomie is also lonely. Catch up soon, Roomie & S

Leave a Reply

